Internet Society Frontpage

Events Membership
About the Internet Standards
Publications  Public Policy
About ISOC Education

About the Internet Society 

Become an ISOC Member

Board of Trustees

2008 Board Election

Report of the 2008 ISOC Nominations Committee - 6 February 2008

The call for Nominations for candidates for the 2008 election of the Board of Trustees of the Internet Society (ISOC) Elections was published on 30 November 2007.

This year, two Trustees will be elected by the ISOC Organizational Members and one by the ISOC Chapters for three year terms.

The Committee would like to thank everyone who submitted a nomination and especially to every nominee who agreed to be considered. Many nominations were received and it was a very difficult task to choose between the many well-qualified nominees.

The Nominations Committee has selected four candidates to be included in the ballot for the Organizational Membership Election and three candidates to be included in the ballot for the Chapter Membership Election.

The selected candidates for Organizational Membership Election are:

  • Raul Echeberria
  • Laina Raveendran Greene
  • Daniel Karrenberg
  • Ganesh Natarajan

The selected candidates for the Chapters Election are:

  • Philippe Batreau
  • Calvin Browne
  • Alejandro Pisanty

Brief bios of the candidates will be posted as soon as they are available here.

This announcement also invites additional nominations by petition for candidates for the 2008 ISOC Board of Trustee Elections.

Additional nominations for election to the Board of Trustees may be made by petition OF THE CANDIDATE, and filed with the Chair of the Nominations Committee at

Separate petition mailboxes will be created for each valid petition request that is received.

The petition request should include:

  1. A statement whether the candidate wants to run for the Organizational Members Election or the Chapters Election, including a statement that the candidate will be able to devote an appropriate level of time to serve on the ISOC Board of Trustees.
  2. A short statement of what the petition candidate believes he or she would contribute as a Trustee of the Internet Society. All petition candidates will be listed in periodic announcements to participating Chapters and Organizational Members via electronic mail and will be posted on the ISOC web site.

Signatures in support of a petition shall be filed electronically and must be received by 23:59 UTC on the night of 10 March, 2008. For the purposes of this policy, a "signature" shall be an email expressing support for the candidate's petition sent by the Election Representative of a Chapter or Organizational Member that is eligible to participate in this election, and is subject to ISOC verification. The message should include the Organizational Member's or Chapter's name and the name of the candidate whose petition is supported.

Each signature must come directly from the Election Representative via email to an address designated by the ISOC staff. The Election Representative must send a separately e-mailed signature for each candidate he or she wishes to support to the candidate's individual petition mailbox as designated by ISOC. Each petitioner shall be provided with copies of all signature e-mails for his or her candidacy and periodic reports about his or her status in obtaining signatures. Announcements regarding successful petitions shall be made as soon as practical, and need not await the end of the petition period.

Participating Organizational Members or Chapters can sign petitions for candidates running within their own constituency only. A Participating Organizational Member or Chapter may sign more than one petition.

For a petition to be successful a candidate in the Organizational Members constituency needs the support of 6 valid signatures and a candidate in the Chapters constituency needs 6 valid signatures.

Successful petitioners will be placed on the ballot. The final candidate announcement will be made no later than 13 March.

Patrick Vande Walle
2008 ISOC Nominations Committee Chair