Internet Society Frontpage

Events Membership
About the Internet Standards
Publications  Public Policy
About ISOC Education

About the Internet Society 

Become an ISOC Member

Board of Trustees

2011 Board Election

Report of the Elections Committee

14 November 2010 - the Election Committee confirmed the ballots handled by the electronic voting system.

In the Chapter election, there were three candidates:

  • Alain Aina, Benin
  • Nick Ashton-Hart - Switzerland
  • Marcin Cieslak - Poland

62 out of the 78 chapters voted, which is 79.49%.

Alain Aina, who received the highest number of the votes, has been elected for a three year term.

In the Organizational Member election, there were five candidates:

  • Raúl Echeberria - Uruguay
  • Yrjö Länsipuro - Finland
  • Jason Livingood - USA
  • Bill Smith - USA
  • Theresa Swinehart - USA

54 of the 107 Organizational Members, or 50.47%, voted.

They had the opportunity to cast two ballots each. The ballot cast was weighted by the class of membership.

Theresa Swinehart and Raúl Echeberria, receiving the largest weighted ballot counts, have been elected for three year terms.

Per this timetable, there is a challenge period in which issues may be raised concerning the election.
This closes 16 June at midnight UTC, and the resulting board is seated in the ISOC Board Meeting on 30-31 July in Quebec City, Canada.

The Election Committee wishes to thank all of the candidates, the people and organizations that voted, and the staff which supported the election.

The election itself conducted with the highest of standards and the elections committee is satisfied with the electronic voting system that was used this year.

We wish ISOC well.

Respectfully submitted,