Internet Society Frontpage

Events Membership
About the Internet Standards
Publications  Public Policy
About ISOC Education

Public Policy 

Become an ISOC Member

Internet Governance

Community and Governance Events

Conférence Générale de l’UNESCO, 26 Oct - 1 Nov 2007

Commission Communication et Information, Salle XI
Intervention de Constance Bommelaer, Internet Society (ISOC)

Monsieur le Président,
Monsieur le représentant du Directeur Général,
Mesdames et Messieurs les Délégués,

Je m’adresse à vous en ma qualité de représentante de l’Internet Society (ISOC) – une organisation non-gouvernementale (ONG) en relations opérationnelles – mais aussi et surtout au nom de la Commission Programmatique Mixte sur l’Information et la Communication, qui est présidée par Monsieur Bernard Loing.

Nous sommes ici, Mesdames et Messieurs, pour réfléchir aux questions stratégiques en rapport avec la Communication et l’Information et aux travaux de l’UNESCO dans les années à venir.

Nous nous réjouissons en particulier de la place prise par l’UNESCO dans l’implémentation des Lignes d’Action du SMSI, et des orientations prises par l’organisation pour approfondir et développer ses programmes dans ces secteurs. Nous souhaitons profiter de l’occasion que nous avons aujourd’hui, pour saluer l’important développement des activités liées aux Nouvelles Technologies et en particulier à l’Internet.

Depuis sa fondation, l’Internet Society a pour mission de promouvoir le développement ouvert, l’évolution et l’utilisation d’Internet pour le bénéfice de tous les peuples. Nous estimons que les normes, les technologies, les pratiques et les stratégies gouvernementales et communautaires doivent être au service d’une plateforme ouverte, d’un accès universel, de l’innovation, de la créativité et de la croissance économique. Ces exigences imposent de poursuivre nos efforts pour développer l’accès technique à l’Internet, mais aussi l’éducation aux usages, ou encore le développement de contenus divers, et le multilinguisme. C’est certainement dans cette perspective qu’Internet peut, et pourra, améliorer la qualité de vie de tous.

L’Internet Society, et l’ensemble des ONGs qui composent la Commission Programmatique Mixte sur l’Information et la Communication, insistent sur la nécessité de poursuivre une méthode multi-acteurs, et se réjouissent de poursuivre leur collaboration avec l’UNESCO et en particulier avec l’excellente équipe qui anime son secteur Communication et Information (CI).

Je vous remercie.

Internet Society Frontpage

Events Membership
About the Internet Standards
Publications  Public Policy
About ISOC Education

Public Policy 

Become an ISOC Member

Internet Governance

Community and Governance Events

UNESCO General Conference, 26 Oct - 1 Nov 2007

Communication and Information Commission, Room XI
Speech by Constance Bommelaer, Internet Society (ISOC)

Mister President,
Representative of the General Director,
Ladies and Gentlemen,

I am speaking today as the representative of the Internet Society (ISOC) – a non governmental organisation (NGO) in operational relations – but also on behalf of UNESCO’s Communication and New Technologies Joint Program Commission, presided by Mr. Bernard Loing.

We are here today, ladies and gentlemen, to envision and plan strategically UNESCO’s future activities related to Information and Communication for the coming period.

We are particularly enthusiastic about the leading role UNESCO will continue to play in the implementation of the World Summit on Information Society’s Action Lines and the orientation the organisation has taken to deepen and develop its activities in these areas. We would like to take advantage of the opportunity we have today to recognise and welcome the important development of the activities related to New Technologies and more specifically to the Internet.

From its inception, the mission of the Internet Society has been to promote the open development, evolution, and use of the Internet for the benefit of all people throughout the world. We believe the standards, technologies, business practices, and government and community-driven policies connected with the Internet must sustain an open, universally accessible platform for innovation, creativity, and economic opportunity. These imperatives command us to pursue our global efforts to spur technical access to the Internet, but also to develop Education in the use of the Internet, cultural diversity, and local and multilingual content. In this way, the Internet can improve the quality of life for people in all parts of the world.

The Internet Society and the other NGOs comprising UNESCO’s Communication and New Technologies Joint Program Commission insist on the need to pursue these efforts with a multi-stakeholder methodology. From this perspective, we are thrilled to pursue our collaboration with UNESCO and more specifically with the excellent staff that leads its Information and Communication (IC) sector.

Thank you.