Internet Society Frontpage

Events Membership
About the Internet Standards
Publications  Public Policy
About ISOC Education


Become an ISOC Member

INET Conferences

INET 2000 18-21 July 2000 Yokohama, Japan

The Internet Global Summit - Global Distributed Intelligence for Everyone

The 10th Annual Internet Society Conference
18-21 July 2000
Pacifico Yokohama Conference Center
Yokohama, Japan

Program Committee


Jean-Claude Guedon, <Guedon@LITTCO.UMONTREAL.CA>
Jun Murai, <Junsec@WIDE.AD.JP>

Fred Baker, <Fred@CISCO.COM>, (Theme #1 - Infrastructure Technologies)
Charles Catlett, < Catlett@MCS.ANL.GOV>, (Tutorials Coordinator)
Steve Cisler, <Cisler@POBOX.COM>, (Theme #8 - Regulation/Policy/Government)
Tom DeFanti, <Tom@UIC.EDU>, (Theme #2 - Science & Technology)
François Fluckiger, <Francois.Fluckiger@CERN.CH>, (Theme #1 - Infrastructure Technologies)
Jacques Guidon, < Jacques.Guidon@INRIA.FR>, (Theme #3 - Mobile Internet and IP Network Appliances)
Bob Hata, <Hatak@WHO.CH>, (Theme #5 - Bio-Medical Issues)
Youki Kadobayashi, <Youki@CENTER.OSAKA-U.AC.JP>, (Theme #2 - Science & Technology)
Bruno Lanvin, <Bruno.Lanvin@UNCTAD.ORG>, (Theme #7 - E-Commerce/E-Business)
David Lassner, <David@HULA.ITS.HAWAII.EDU>, (Theme #6 - Education)
Gabriel Montenegro, <Gab@SUN.COM>, (Theme #3 - Mobile Internet and IP Network Appliances)
Michael Nelson, <MRN@US.IBM.COM>, (Theme #8 - Regulation/Policy/Government)
Keiko Okawa, < Keiko@SFC.WIDE.AD.JP>, (Posters Coordinator)
Bruce Pennycook, <Pennycook@IST.MCGILL.CA>, (Theme #4 - Full Demonstrations)
Oliver Popov, <Oliver@MARNET.MK>, (Theme #4 - Full Demonstrations)
George Sadowsky, <George.Sadowsky@NYU.EDU>, (Theme #6 - Education)
Ross Smith, <Smithp01@MCRCR6.MED.NYU.EDU>, (Theme #5 - Bio-Medical Issues)
Florencio Utreras, <FUtreras@REUNA.CL>, (Theme #7 - E-Commerce/E-Business)


Torryn Brazell, <Brazell@ISOC.ORG>
Frank Brunotts, <Brunotts@ISOC.ORG>


Send email to INET2000-PC@LYRIS.ISOC.ORG or use the Web interface or newsgroup interface (log in with your email address).


Conference Information
INET 2000: The Internet Global Summit
"Global Distributed Intelligence for Everyone"

18-21 July 2000
Pacifico Yokohama Conference Center
Yokohama, Japan

Pre-Conference Events

  • Tutorials: 17-18 July 2000
  • Developing Countries Network Symposium: 18 July 2000

Listing of INET 2000 Abstracts

INET 2000 Tracks/Themes

  • Technologies for Internet Infrastructure (#1)
  • 21st Century Science (#2)
  • Mobile Internet and IP Network Appliances (#3)
  • Interactive, Multimedia, Innovative Contents (Live demonstrations)
  • (#4)
  • Bio-Medical Issues (#5)
  • Education (#6)
  • E-Commerce and E-Business (#7)
  • Regulation, Policy and Governance (#8)

Papers/Panel Presentation Schedule

Wednesday, 19 July

  • Concurrent Session #1: 11:00 - 12:30
  • Concurrent Session #2: 14:00 - 15:30
  • Concurrent Session #3: 16:00 - 17:30

Thursday, 20 July

  • Concurrent Session #4: 11:00 - 12:30
  • Concurrent Session #5: 14:00 - 15:30
  • Concurrent Session #6: 16:00 - 17:30

>Friday, 21 July

  • Concurrent Session #7: 08:30 - 10:00

Presentation Information

Length of Presentation

The majority of sessions is made up of paper presentations, as opposed to panels, consisting of one to four papers presented in a 90-minute timeframe. Speakers should plan their presentation for 10-15 minutes, depending upon the number of papers, and allow five minutes for questions from the audience.

Audio/Visual Information

Both a Windows PC and Apple Macintosh will be available in each meeting room, both of which are connected to an LCD panel. A laptop port will be available, as well as an overhead projector.


The computers will have current versions of Netscape Navigator, Microsoft Explorer, Microsoft Office, and FrontPage.

Internet Connectivity

An RJ45, 10MB ethernet connection will be available in each meeting room.


Speakers must adhere to ISOC's policy, which prohibits commercial content in their presentation. This includes:

  • No distribution of commercial product materials including brochures, flyers and product samples.
  • No direct product promotion in the presentation.

Schedule of Program Committee Meetings

  • 5 November 1999; 13:00 - 18:00
  • 6 November 1999; 09:00 - 18:00


    Blue Room
    Omni Shoreham Hotel
    2500 Calvert Street, N.W.
    Washington D.C. 20008 USA
    Phone: +1 202 756 5125
    Fax: +1 202 756 5145

    Check in: 15:00
    Check out: 12:00

  • February 14-18, 2000 (two days will be chosen)

    Location: TBD

Travel Reimbursement

Travel reimbursement for the Program Committee Meetings is available. Members must follow the guidelines below for reimbursement.

  • Lowest coach airfare, purchased from the Internet Society's official travel agency.
  • Allowance of up to 3 nights lodging.

Official Travel Agency

Contact: Maria Orvell
POLICY: Lowest

Financial Aid

The Internet Society provides the Program Committee Members complimentary registration to INET 2000. NOTE: Members must, however, register themselves. Program Committee Members are responsible for all other expenses incurred by their attendance at INET 2000. This includes airfare, hotel accommodations, food, etc. Program Committee Members are also asked to arrange their own hotel reservation.

INET 2000 has a small fund to support the attendance of some Program Committee Members at INET 2000. In the past, the majority of financial aid support has been given to those candidates from developing countries Financial aid is limited and by no means automatic The application process for financial aid will open February 2000.

Program Committee Responsibilities

  • Travel to and participate in Program Committee planning meetings.

    • Take an active part in the discussion at meetings.
    • Understand and respect others ideas and suggestions.
    • Stay on the subject under discussion at meetings.

  • Promptly acknowledge all communication regarding the Program.

    The annual conference deadlines for programming always place the Program Committee on a very tight schedule. However, the deadlines must be met because of the printing schedule for conference materials, including the on-site Final Program Guide.

    The timely return of abstracts/papers and prompt response to questions posed by potential speakers will assist in moving the process along.

  • Ensure completion of assigned track.

    If abstracts/papers have not been submitted for a portion of your assigned track, it is your responsibility to recruit speakers and complete the track.

  • Provide speaker information in a timely manner.

    This information includes, *for each speaker*:

    • Speaker's full name
    • Organization
    • Country
    • E-mail address

    Provide Session Chair information, including all of the above information.

This page is maintained by Lance Laack <Lance@ISOC.ORG>. Please direct any comments or change requests to him.